Tuning Teradata SQL

UDA
Enthusiast

Tuning Teradata SQL

I have a CREATE table statement based on 9 different tables.

It is taking 3 hours in TEST and 10 hours in PROD.

I am trying to tune it for faster creation.

I have checked and see that the stats on all the 9 tables were collected in TEST.

Please let me know where do I go from here.

I am a newbie to Teradata.

Thanks

Rajiv
9 REPLIES
Enthusiast

Re: Tuning Teradata SQL

Hi,
Use join index.

-Sac
Enthusiast

Just a thought.

Will creating an empty table first then fastloading the fastexported data (using a tuned select statement) make the execution duration less?
Sometimes such workarounds make executions faster.

Regards
Senior Apprentice

Hi Rajiv,
without further information (DDL + row counts + query + explain) nobody can provide reliable help.

Is the query running for hours or just the Create Table As?
Maybe skewed table and lots of duplicate row checks due to a Set table?

Dieter
Enthusiast

Hi,

Thanks for your replies.

I have the following JOIN query which is part of a sub-query for the CREATE TABLE statement.

Select cast(PERIOD_END_DT_TM As date format 'yyyy-mm-dd') end_dte
From audit.PROCESS_CONTROL
Where process_name = 'CHURN_MONTHLY_SNAPSHOT') pc2,
vantage.SUBSCRIBER_WORKORDER_XREF x
Inner Join vantage.WOS_SERV_CODE wos
On x.SID_WOC = wos.SID_WO
And wos.serv_ext_aft_wos > 0
Left Outer Join reportuser.ss_programming ssp
On wos.serv_cde_wos = ssp.serv_cde
Where x.ACTIVE_FLAG = 'Y'
And pc2.end_dte Between x.BEGIN_DATE
And x.END_DATE
Group By x.sid_sbb, x.SID_WOC, mon_snap_dte, x.ORIG_NC_WOC_DATE
) sub
Inner Join vantage.WOS_SERV_CODE wos
On sub.SID_WOC = wos.SID_WO
And wos.serv_ext_aft_wos > 0
--Left Outer Join vantage.HOUSE_SUBSCRIBER_XREF hsx
-- On sub.sid_sbb = hsx.sid_sbb
-- And sub.mon_snap_dte Between hsx.BEGIN_DATE
-- And hsx.END_DATE
Left Outer Join
(Select sid_sbb, max (sid_hse) sid_hse
from vantage.HSE_BASE
group by sid_sbb) hsx
On sub.sid_sbb = hsx.sid_sbb