alter table modify primary index to unique primary index

UDA

alter table modify primary index to unique primary index

Hi,

I'm new to teradata.

I want to alter the PRIMARY INDEX of a table to UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX. How to acheive this?

Also I would like to know the full alter table syntax options of Teradata.
7 REPLIES

Re: alter table modify primary index to unique primary index

Hi,

U can copy all the contents of a table into a new table and define unique primary index on the required column and later drop the old table(provided u have both create and drop table permissions)

Syntax would be,

CREATE TABLE NEW_TABLE AS
( SELECT *
FROM OLD_TABLE
)UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX(REQUIRED_COLUMN)
WITH DATA;

DROP TABLE OLD_TABLE;

I am not very sure whether it is making any sense or not.

You can find alter table syntax in Teradata documentation(SQL Reference:Data Defination statements)

If u want, i can mail u a copy of that.

Teradata Employee

Hi Ramvenky,
Here you have to consider few things.

You can always change the UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX to PRIMARY INDEX no matter the table is populated or not using the following statement

ALTER TABLE Tabla_Name MODIFY NOT UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX (Column_Name)

But if you want to change the PRIMARY INDEX to UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX then table must be empty i.e. there should not be any row in the table. Use the following query to change the PI in case the table is empty

ALTER TABLE Tabla_Name MODIFY UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX (Column_Name)

Following are the statements to change the NUP to UPI without loosing data

CREATE TABLE NEW_TABLE
,FALLBACK/NO FALLBACK
(Columns1 Data_Type,
Column2 DataType
)
UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX(REQUIRED_COLUMN);

And Then

INSERT INTO New_Table_Name SEL * FROM Old_Table_Name;

Then Delete the old Table

Drop Old_Table

Rename New_Table
N/A

There's no reason to copy to a new table.

Simply add a USI on the NUPI columns and then
ALTER TABLE xxx MODIFY UNIQUE PRIMARY INDEX (NUPI_cols)