Deleting all Viewpoint configuration

Viewpoint
Enthusiast

Deleting all Viewpoint configuration

We have relocated one of our Viewpoint servers within our organisation.

Is there a quick way to wipe the previous set-up off the server?

2 REPLIES
Teradata Employee

Re: Deleting all Viewpoint configuration

You can certainly delete the monitored Teradata systems via the Teradata Systems admin portlet.  However, this does not currently delete the previously collected data from the Viewpoint database (but it will in a future Viewpoint release).  This is the only quick and easy solution.

The other option is to remove the Viewpoint database and reinstall the software.  However, you would want to likely work with Teradata CS to support such an operation.   

Teradata Employee

Re: Deleting all Viewpoint configuration

Another good idea from the Viewpoint PM Gary:

On the system you want to remove, set the cleanup policy to 1 MB or 1 day.  When the cleanup runs (which happens by default at midnight), it should delete all but the current partition table for each collector.  If you have a lot of historical data, this will get rid of most of it.  Be sure you leave the collectors enabled, and also the system enabled, otherwise the cleanup will not run.  Then you can delete the system and not leave around a bunch of historical data.