The Private Messenger allows you to send private notes to other users. You need to be signed in to use the Private Messenger. If you have any new messages, the word “new” will appear under the Private Message link in the black sign-in box with the number of new messages in parenthesis.
If you click on the link, you will be taken to your Private Messages inbox.
To send a Private Message
To read a Private Message:
To reply to a Private Message:
To delete a Private Message:
While reading a message, you can click the Delete link at the bottom of the window to delete the current message.
While viewing your Inbox, you can delete several messages at once by checking the checkboxes next to the messages you want to delete, then clicking Delete Checked from the Message Options drop down menu.
To see Private Messages you’ve sent:
When in the Private Messenger, click the Outbox link to see all the messages you sent to others.
To add other community members to your Friends List
If you have entered information on your Personal Profile page, and if you have checked the Friends Only option for Profile Privacy on your Display & Privacy Settings tab, then only people on your Friends List will be able to see your personal information.
Similarly, if you have checked the Friends Only option for Online Status on your Display & Privacy Settings tab, then only people on your Friends List will be able to see when you are online or not.
When you send a message in the Private Messenger, all your friends will appear in a dropdown menu that you can select from. You can then send one of them a message without having to type their user name into the Send to field.
To add a user to your Friends List:
To add other community members to your Ignore List:
Adding someone to your Ignore List will stop them from being able to send you Private Messages.
To add someone to your Ignore List:
You can also click the Add User to Ignore List link in any message the user has sent you to add that person to your Ignore List. To see who's on your Ignore List, click the Ignore tab in your Private Messenger. You can remove them from your Ignore List if you've changed your mind.