How to unify different spellings fast?

Analytics

How to unify different spellings fast?

Dear Teradata users,

I am fairly new to TD and struggling with a question. Hope you can help!

In my dataset there are two columns with company name and address. Unfortunately, a single company name is sometimes spelled slightly different on different occasions. Before further processing I would like to clean this up. My dataset contains about 10 million records and I would like something reasonably fast.

I came up with the following procedure (code below): first I select the compressed name and address of the first record as macro variables. Then I calculate a similarity measure against all other records (this is suprisingly fast with the buildin TD function ‘editdistance’). For the records with an acceptable similarity I keep the name. Then I go on to the next record in line. I repeat this step in a do while loop until every record is processed. This works but requires many many loopups (many company names occur only once or a few times) and takes a long time (>15 hours). I was hoping for something faster. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Ruud

proc sql ;
create table work.temp(dbcreate_table_opts = "no primary index") as 
select trim(Name) as Name,
       compress(Name,,'kad') as cName,	
       compress(Address,,'kad') as cAddress, 
       ("") format=$70. length=70 as Name_
from work.source
where length(compress(Name,,'kad')) >= 4 and length(compress(Address,,'kad')) >= 6;
quit;

proc sql noprint;
select Name, cName, cAddress into :name, :cname, :caddress
from work.temp
where Name_ is missing;
quit;

%macro clean_names;

%do %while(%length(&cname)>3);

proc sql;
connect to teradata (server=server authdomain=TeradataAuth tpt=yes mode=teradata connection=global);
execute( update work.temp
set Name_ = %bquote('&name')
where Name_ is null and
      editdistance(trim(cName),    %bquote('&cname'),    1,1,2,2) <= 4 and