SYNC checkbox in Backup Job

Backup Archive and Restore (BAR)
All things BAR
Enthusiast

SYNC checkbox in Backup Job

Hi,

 

There is one option while creating backup job in Job setting i.e. SYNC checkbox. Could you explain, what it is ?  I found below command in teradata documentations . I did not  understand what it mean by -that are already being logged

"

Determines where synchronization is done for the job. Only available for online backup jobs.

  • Unchecked. Default. Synchronization occurs across all tables simultaneously. If you try to run a job that includes objects that are already being logged, the job aborts.
  • Checked. There can be different synchronization points. If you try to run a job that includes objects that are already being logged, the job runs to completion and a warning is returned.   "
Tags (2)
1 REPLY 1
Highlighted
Teradata Employee

Re: SYNC checkbox in Backup Job

For online archive, first logging must started, then the backup is done, then logging should be ended (and any temporary log dropped). This typically happens "under the covers", but if an online archive fails and you want to start over, it may be necessary to manually set LOGGING ONLINE ARCHIVE OFF.