Need help with sorting some data

General
Enthusiast

Need help with sorting some data

Hi. I'm new to Teradata so I don't if there's an obvious solution to my problem.

I'm trying to sort a table in a specific way. This table has many columns, but I think the address column will be most helpful. Everytime I select the table using a where clause and a specific address, I get several rows. For example, one of the addresses on my table is 26 and I want to obtain just the 1st row that appears from this query:

Sel * from table_name
where address='26'

I want to do this for every distinct address on my original table and put them all together in a new table. Obviously, I can't use the above query for every address since there are too many of them, so I'm trying to see if there's a way to obtain all these 1st rows faster. Unfortunately, there are no unique identifiers on the table. I tried adding one using csum(1,1),
row_number() over (order by null), or
row_number() over (partition by s_addr order by null),
but they all end up scrambling up the order of the rows and I end up selecting the wrong ones.

If it helps, I'm trying to rewrite a query from SAS into SQL using this. With SAS, the query doesn't sort the rows in any particular order unless you tell it to, but with SQL, using any row_number function (even if you use order by null) will automatically sort the table with some of its rows. I think the key to this is adding a unique identifier to the table without sorting any rows, but I'm not sure how to do that.

Thank you in advance!
11 REPLIES 11
Teradata Employee

Re: Need help with sorting some data

Hi kenli90,

I think you almost figured it out.

Try this one :

select *
   from table_name
qualify row_number() over (partition by address order by null) = 1;

qualify is a supplementary level of filter applied after window functions (like row_number).

the row_number is reseting for every new value of the partition by columns and expressions.