BTEQ to connect to remote Teradata db and execute multiple queries to different files

Tools & Utilities
Enthusiast

BTEQ to connect to remote Teradata db and execute multiple queries to different files

I am new to BTEQ. I request some of the experts help to answer my questions below.

I have a requirement to connect to a remote teradata server using shell script. Can I use BTEQ for this purpose? 

Also I need to execute a set of sql queries and export the outputs to  different files in excel format to the local system. Is that possible as well?

Please help..

5 REPLIES 5
Teradata Employee

Re: BTEQ to connect to remote Teradata db and execute multiple queries to different files

Hi Ricky_r,

Yes totally.

There is an EXPORT option in BTEQ to output a query in a file.

Don't forget to EXPORT RESET at then end.

Enthusiast

Re: BTEQ to connect to remote Teradata db and execute multiple queries to different files

Thankyou Waldar.

For writing the output queries to multiple files in local system , would the below bteq script format work?

What I am trying to do is ,exporting  the table1 output to 'output1.xlsx' and table2 output to 'output2.xlsx'

If not, would you help me with the right way to do it?

.logon {remoteurl}/{username},{password};

.export dif file=C:/tmp/output1.xlsx

select * from table1;

.export dif file=C:/tmp/output2.xlsx

select * from table2;

.export reset

.logoff

.quit

Teradata Employee

You're missing an export reset I'd say :

select * from table1;
.export reset

select * from table2;
.export reset

.logoff
.quit
Highlighted
Enthusiast

@Waldar wrote:

You're missing an export reset I'd say :

select * from table1;
.export reset

select * from table2;
.export reset

.logoff
.quit

Thankyou , it worked.

But in the output generated , the column titles are missing. How can I include that in the output file?