The Shared Pages feature in Viewpoint has been updated to make it simpler and more intuitive. Now, if you want to create a template page to share with others or to ensure that new users are not greeted with a blank Home page, you can find everything you need in the new and improved Shared Pages admin portlet.
For anyone not familiar with the Shared Pages feature, it allows admin users to create template Viewpoint pages and have full control over the layout of portlets on the page and the settings and views within the portlets. You can allow users in a role to take a copy of a shared page and customize it, to view a read-only page that cannot be customized so you can ensure your users have a consistent view of data, and you can automatically add pages to the portal.
The main changes in the Shared Pages interface from the last release are:
To get started, ensure the Shared Pages portlet is enabled and that you belong to a role that has permission to use the portlet.
Upon opening the portlet, you see a list of all of the shared pages that have been created and some useful data points for each.
When you click the Add Shared Page button you are presented with some options for how the page should be applied. Normally, shared pages are editable and can be added or removed at any time.
This is how you choose who can use the page. After you create the page, you cannot change the role since different roles can have very different access rights so switching roles could get messy.
This specifies whether or not the page is accessible to users. Remember that as soon as you click Create, the page is generated. If you don't want end users to see that page until after you have added and edited the portlets, do not enable the page until you are happy with the end result.
This option helps new Viewpoint users by automatically displaying a useful portal page rather than a blank page.
This ensures that everyone who adds the shared page to the portal will see the same portlets in the same configuration.
This variant of a read-only page that is automatically added for everyone in the target role and cannot be removed.
Now that Viewpoint knows the target role and its associated permissions, you can build a shared page and see how it will look to users. The page edit screen looks nearly identical to a normal page.
In the first step, you already configured the Page Properties so the next step is to add portlets to the page. The Add Content interface allows you to add only the portlets available to the target role. This removes some of the confusion of the previous release where you could add any portlet but it might not appear to the user.
When customizing the shared page, 'Edit and Preview' is the normal mode and ensures you see exactly which features and functions are available to users in the target role. It is recommended that you do most page configuration in the preview mode and that you verify the shared page in that mode before saving.
The gear icons allow you to configure additional settings that might not be available to the target role such as the ability to configure which table columns appear, select a target system, and configure portlet Settings (previously known as Preferences).
When you are happy with your creation, ensure the page is enabled and click Save; the new page will be available to all users of the target role.
After the page has been created, it can be added (assuming it is a normal or read-only page) using the Add Page menu at the top of the portal (the plus icon to the right of the page tabs). Mandatory pages do not appear in the list because they are added automatically for all users in the role.
How do you get to the Viewpoint server installed as part of TDXpress 15 for VMware? No one seems to have the answer in the forums. I would like to "try-out" some of these new Viewpoint 15.0 features but no obvious way to open the server either from within VMware or from the Windows 7 host, even though I can connect to the TD 15.0 database and can successfully start the Viewpoint services.
I am working as a Teradata DBA ad migrating to TD 14.10. I have created a shared page for the DBAs and published it.
Now when people in my team(DBAs) logon to viewpoint, they are able to see the shared page. But, i noticed one thing that is bothering me. All the DBAs get a Admin option at the right top corner of the viewpoint and from there they can edit the shared page itself and in fact delete it. But, i dont that. only the admin should have rights to edit/delete the shared page. All other DBAs should have an option to customize it for their own view of the shared page.
Could you please help me here.
Access to the Shared Pages admin portlet is specified in Roles Manager. In the details for a role, the permission to access the portlet is on the Portlets tab. If you want to prevent people from editing the original shared page template then do not allow them to access the Shared Pages admin portlet. I do not know how you currently have role permissions configured and whether you use different roles for different user groups but you may need to create a new role so that you can give separate permissions to 2 groups. Keep the default Administrator role for the true admin.
thanks for the information wdarling. Just an update, for my above question. when i go to admin section in portlets tab in viewpoint for dba role as you suggested, the shared pages is enabled and as an admin also i couldn't not change it. after some research, i found that you need to go to general tab and disable below option (which was checked for me) and it removed the admin option for all the DBAs
Shared Page Administration State
So, the idea is the same as you mentioned above, but tab is different. we moved to viewpoint - 14.10, so it might be the reason, so just sharing this.
Great news, work with these updates will be made more practical, it is now a matter of properly use these new incoporaciones to improve daily work. [URL=http://solucionesdeacero.com]...[/URL]